Friday October 30, 2020 5:27 PM

Imo: 26 lawmakers have defected to APC- Speaker

Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Dr Chiji Collins, on Saturday declared that 26 legislators have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Of the 27 lawmakers, only the immediate past deputy speaker, Hon Okey Onyekanma, is of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), The Nation learnt.

Addressing the APC supporters during a rally in support of Governor Hope Uzodinma in Owerri, the Imo State capital, on Saturday, Chiji said, the lawmakers were ready to partner with Uzodinma to succeed as governor, even as he said that their defection was devoid of any inducement.

The Speaker said: “As at last night, we have 26 lawmakers who have declared for APC, and by next week, I assure you that soon the 27 will all be for APC. Wait till the next plenary when all of them will officially defect.

“We are ready to support the governor because he is ready to turn this state around.”

The Supreme Court had on January 14, 2020 declared Senator Hope Uzodinma as the governor of Imo State, an action that ousted Chief Emeka Ihedioha from office.

According to him, in the next six months under Uzodinma as governor, “Imo State will be transformed because he has direct connection with President Muhammadu Buhari and we are going to partner fully with the government of Senator Hope Uzodinma.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *