Thursday August 11, 2022 12:30 AM

INEC plans to deploy 25,009 officials Anambra for poll

Electoral umpire, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said it will deploy 25,009 officials for the November 6, Anambra State governorship election.

It also ruled out electronic transmission of results, saying ballot boxes, ballot papers and result sheets will be deployed for the election.

National Commissioner and Chairman of INEC’s Information and Voter Education Committee, Festus Okoye, who disclosed in Abuja, yesterday, added that the security situation in the state and the COVID-19 pandemic would be critical factors in deployment of the officials.

This came as a diaspora Igbo group, Anambra State Association World-Wide (ASA-World), set a benchmark, which a candidate of any political party must meet to be elected next governor of the state.

In a virtual meeting, yesterday, Chairman of the group, Dr. Nwachukwu Anakwenze, cautioned the contestants and their platforms to jettison the idea that Anambra is for sale to the highest political bidder. He said the next governor must be elected through a free, fair and transparent outing by the electorate.

Anakwenze said all actions and attitudes associated with democratic governance and social participation in the election or civil liberty matters must originate from citizens at home or abroad.

“We will not tolerate individuals from other states or an invisible hand that may wish to impose a sycophant on Anambra State,” he said.

According to him, “The next governor of Anambra State must have clarity of purpose, must be an immovable force to reckon with, and must understand that as governor of the gateway to Igbo land, his position should add value to the South South, South East corridor’s dialogue on the current situation in Nigeria.,

In a related developmenta group, Anambra Indigenes in the Diaspora, has endorsed the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate. Prof. Chukwuma Soludo, as its preferred candidate.

The group, made up of people living in the United States of America, United Kingdom, Russia, Germany, Hong Kong, South Africa, Australia, Austria, Sweden, Denmark, Spain, Italy and India, made their position known, yesterday, in a statement made available to newsmen in Awka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *