Thursday May 19, 2022 11:53 PM

Lagos LG Poll: APC wins all 57 council seats

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won all the 57 council seats in the local government election conducted on Saturday by the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC).

The results were announced by Returning Officers at all the 57 Collation Centres in the State.

The keenly contested election however recorded low participation by the voting populace.

There were jubilation and victory songs in all councils.

National President of Association of Local Governments of Nigeria (ALGON), Kolade Alabi, who was re-elected in Bariga for another four-year term, thanked the people for their trust in him.

It was a double celebration for Alabi who was recently re-elected as ALGON President in Abuja.

He promised to continue to deliver good governance for the people in Bariga and all council officials across the nation.

“I thank our leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the party leaders at the state level and Bariga. I also thank all those involved in my re-election. I will not take your support for granted,” Alabi said.

Dr Ahmed Apatira, who was also re-elected in Itire/Ikate council, thanked the voters, party leaders and members for the victory.

His Iru-Victoria Island counterpart, Princess Rasheedat Adu thanked Oniru of Iruland Oba Gbolahan Lawal, the party faithful and the people for returning her for another term.

Princess Adu said she will not rest on her oars to continue the development of Iru-Victoria Island.

Apapa-Iganmu LCDA Chairman Alhaja Funmilayo Akande-Mohammed appreciated Asiwaju Tinubu, Senator Oluremi Tinubu, party leaders, members and the people for the victory at the poll.

She promised to deliver more dividends of democracy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *