Friday October 07, 2022 4:36 AM

Lawan’s name missing as INEC releases final list of candidates

The Senate President Ahmad Lawan may not be happy at the moment as his name was not includein the final list of candidates published by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

It will be recalled that the Senate President and Bashir Machina have been at loggerheads  over the ticket of the APC for Yobe North which Lawan currently represents.

It was gathered that the r, Godswill Akpabio, former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, made the list as the APC candidate for Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial District in the upcoming general elections.

It will be recalled that  a Federal High Court in Abuja had ordered INEC to accept Akpabio’s name as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the Akwa Ibom North-West District for the 2023 elections.

The electoral umpire on Tuesday published the final lists of presidential and National Assembly candidates of the 18 registered political parties in the country.

The National Chairman of the APC, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, had threatened Machina with severe sanctions if he refused to relinquish his ticket to Lawan.

Recall that the Senate President  had contested and lost the APC presidential primaries

In the final list published on Tuesday no candidate was published for Yobe North as the space was blank up till this moment.A

kpabio, who also contested and lost the APC presidential primaries, was declared the winner of another primary.

His name was published as the APC candidate for the Akwa Ibom North-West, with INEC remark stating ‘Court Order’.

National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee of INEC, Festus Okoye, said the commission at its weekly meeting held on Tuesday approved the final list of candidates for electoral

He said, “In terms of gender distribution, 3,875 candidates are male, made up of 35 for presidential and vice presidential; 1,008 for senate and 2,832 for house of representatives. Similarly, 381 females comprising one for presidential, 92 for senate, and 288 for house of representatives are contesting. There are also 11 Persons with Disability (PWDs) in the race.”

Okoye said the publication of the full names and addresses of all nominated candidates follows the political parties’ conduct of primaries and completion of the nomination exercise.

He also said that at end of the process, the personal particulars of all nominated candidates were displayed in their constituencies nationwide as provided by Section 29(3) of the Electoral Act.

“Subsequently, validly nominated candidates had the opportunity to voluntarily withdraw their candidature by notice in writing and personally deliver such notice to the political party that nominated them for the election.

“Thereafter, political parties substituted such candidates under Section 31 of the Electoral Act for which the last day was 15th July 2022 for national elections and 12th August 2022 for state elections as clearly provided in item 6 of the Commission’s Timetable and Schedule of Activities. Thereafter, no withdrawal or substitution of candidates is allowed except in the event of death as provided in Section 34(1) of the Electoral Act or pursuant to an order of a court of competent jurisdiction.

“The list published today (Tuesday) contains the names of candidates validly nominated for national elections at the close of party primaries and the period earmarked for withdrawal and substitution of candidates,” Okoye said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *