Friday October 30, 2020 8:11 PM

Ogun Politics: Gov Abiodun refuses to appoint Caretaker Chairmen for Amosun’s LCDAs

Speculations are rife that Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun have scrapped the 37 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) created by his predecessor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun.

The Governor has appointed Caretaker Chairmen for 20 local governments only.

Amosun, in 2016, created 37 LCDAs out of the existing nationally recognized 20 local governments of the state, saying it was to bring government nearer to the people and to engender further development.

The bill was passed by the Suraju Adekunbi-led Ogun State House of Assembly and was later assented to by Amosun.

Same year, the state government conducted an election into the 57 council areas after sharing assets of the 20 local governments among the LCDAs created out of each of them.

The 57 elected Chairmen and their councillors completed their tenures in October 2019.

However, in a statement signed by Gov Abiodun’s media aide on Friday, it was gathered that the governor appointed transition committees for the 20 local government areas of the state only.

The  governor was silent on the 37 LCDAs as no efforts have been made by him to repeal the law establishing same.

Somorin, in the statement, stated that “The transition committees will be in place until the Ogun State Electoral Commission (OGSEIC) conducts election to pick new council Vhairmen, Daily Post reports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *