Thursday October 06, 2022 6:42 PM

Two top Senators dump APC for PDP

Two top members of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senate Majority Leader, Yahaya Abdullahi; and Adamu Aliero, have formally decamped the major opposition, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP),

The official  defections of the two APC senators from Kebbi State were made known by letters read to the floor by President Ahmad Lawan, and read at plenary on Tuesday

It should be noted that both Senators  represent Kebbi Central and Kebbi North Senatorial districts respectively.

It was gathered that Senate Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe will  formally defect from the PDP to the All Progressives Grand Alliance on June 15, is the

His defection was deferred, given the inability of the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, to come with his defection and resignation letter to plenary.

Although an announcement to that effect was made by Lawan, saying that  Abaribe’s letter is formally read on the floor before his exit as Minority Leader, after a point of order raised by Sen. Gabriel Suswam (PDP- Benue).

It also reduced the number of APC Senators from 71 to 69 in the Senate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *